Zero Days by Ruth Ware

Book 16 of 2023

My Rating: 4.5 Stars

Here’s why

I am an avid Ruth Ware reader no matter what, so of course, when her newest release came out, I had to get my hands on it.

Jacintha “Jack” Cross and her husband, Gabe, are pen testers. They are hired to break into businesses to see just how secure their buildings and information is from any intruders, and report back just how easy or difficult it was. On a routine job, Jack finds herself arrested (which isn’t uncommon for someone “breaking and entering”), but by the time she gets home, something is wrong. Gabe is dead and the police are closing in on a suspect – her. Now Jack must use her skills to outsmart whoever has done this and keep herself from being arrested before she can discover the truth. Who killed Gabe and why? What do they have to gain by framing her?

***

This was such a unique storyline for Ruth to write. She is very well known for her thrillers, and although this one definitely was, it was a different type. More focused on espionage/crime, it felt like I was reading a mixture of a thriller and “heist” but not. Like a caper story. Sneaking in, breaking codes, disguises, etc. I was here for it! Two of my favorite worlds combining into a unique plot that had me guessing the whole time.

I am giving this book 4.5 Stars because it is such a great, solid, worth-while read. There were twists I did see coming (hence the 0.5 reduction), but some I did not. I was on my toes, flipping page after page, trying to figure out what was going to happen to Jack and how it was all going to resolve. Something happens earlier on in the story that slowing begins to impact Jack more and more to the point where I wasn’t sure how she could go on with her investigation. It was that intense! I loved how everything resolved and the little happy twist in the end, too, so this book ticked a lot of “favorite boxes” for me.

If you have not read Ruth Ware before, I would HIGHLY recommend! I will link my reviews to her other reads (it’s not all of them, but most!) and honestly, you can’t really go wrong – just see which one sounds the most interesting to you and go for it!

HAPPY READING 🙂

The Death of Mrs. Westaway review: https://brookeandbinding.wordpress.com/2018/06/11/the-death-of-mrs-westaway-by-ruth-ware/

The Turn of the Key review: https://brookeandbinding.wordpress.com/2019/09/03/the-turn-of-the-key-by-ruth-ware/

One by One review: https://brookeandbinding.wordpress.com/2020/10/01/one-by-one-by-ruth-ware/

The It Girl review: https://brookeandbinding.wordpress.com/2022/09/30/the-it-girl-by-ruth-ware/

Genre: Thriller/Suspense/Mystery/Crime/Heist/Espionage

Leave a comment