The Soulmate by Sally Hepworth

Book 10 of 2023

My Rating: 3.5 Stars

Here’s why

This was my March 2023 Book of the Month selection and I am glad I grabbed it.

Pippa and Gabe live by The Drop, a known location for people to jump off the cliff and end their lives; however, Gabe has saved quite a few lives and has even become a local hero. One night, they noticed another figure out by the cliffs and Gabe is to the rescue, but this time the ending does not go quite as planned. Through a series of past and present timelines along with the perspective of two different women involved, this book will keep you flipping pages until the very end.

***

I have not read Sally Hepworth before, but I am familiar with some of her other book covers and titles.

This book intrigued me from the beginning and was a very fast read. I picked it up to try and see which book I should read next, and next thing you know I am 20 pages in. The writing is very fast, easy to digest, and as the story unfolds the characters become more and more complex.

I am giving this book 3.5 stars because it was very easy to read, had quite a few twists, and for the most part was easy to follow along. I do wish Some of the twists were more twisty, but I did enjoy seeing how everything played out. Maybe I was hoping for higher stakes to take it to a higher rating? Also, one of the characters in particular started to become the focal point of the storyline which took me by surprise, and their story got fairly complex as well, which wasn’t necessarily bad but I was not anticipating.

All in all it was a very solid read, and I did enjoy picking up a fast paced thriller/suspenseful novel that I was not able to put down!

HAPPY READING 🙂

Genre: Thriller/Suspense/Mystery/Crime

Leave a comment